About this site

Welcome to the County Kildare  homepage of the Ireland Genealogy Projects (IGP).  Our website in dedicated to providing Free Genealogy information

This website provides a brief description of County Kildare  in the Republic of Ireland as well as valuable links to County Kildare genealogy resources.

Brief History of County Kildare

County Kildare (Irish Cill Dara)  takes its name from St. Brigid’s monastery beneath an oak tree;

Cill Dara the church of the oak tree. This 6th century saint is one of the three
patrons of Ireland. Little factual evidence is known about the saint but it is
traditionally believed that she founded a monastery at

Kildare which was unique in that it was a mixed community of nuns &  monks
It was there that she died in 525 AD. The eternal fire, which was tended by the
nuns there, was extinguished at the time of the Reformation.

St. Brigid’s Cross, woven from rushes, is said to have been first plaited by the
saint when she was explaining the mysteries of the Christian gospel to a dying

The cross is still being made, and is place over the door to protect people from
illness or bad luck.      

Geography of County Kildare


 County Kildare in in the Province of Leinster.  The main towns are Kildare,        Celbridge, Naas, Newbridge,  Monastarevin, Milltown, Maynooth, Leixlip &    Maynooth. Kildare is  bounded by Counties Meath, Fingal, South Dublin,  Carlow, Laois & Offaly. 

Resources at IGP Archives